Friday, May 21, 2010

A 15 Team SEC

I don't think the SEC needs to expand, but if we ever do, we need to do it like this.

Three divisions. Add Texas, Texas A&M and Clemson. While we would have to tweak the proposed method for determining a champion, whoever wins a conference of this magnitude should qualify to play for the national championship every year.

Be still, my heart.

Highlights? Plenty. Every year, Georgia would play the following teams:

Auburn, Clemson, Florida, South Carolina, Kentucky, and Texas A&M; two rotating members of the other divisions and Georgia Tech.

Be. Still. My. Heart.

Then again, poor, poor LSU, who ends up with this schedule. Every. Year.

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Mississippi State, Texas, Texas A&M; two rotating members of the other divisions (which means some years, their schedule could include all that plus Tennesse/Auburn AND Georgia/Clemson). But they would never be criticized for loading the non-conference slate with the Louisiana Directionals and Tulane again, EVAR, and may be the only team in the history of the sport to go to the national championship with two losses multiple times.


No comments: